Dear Diary, I Played BioShock Infinite Pt. 1!

Okay, so I wanted to post the first half of my review of Bioshock Infinite. I haven’t had the time to play it much, nor the time to even mention it on my blog, but I’m supposedly, a little more than halfway done with only a few hours of playtime. I just want to say, that it definitely lived up to my standards, and impressed me as much as the previous BioShock games did in the past.

The graphics are spectacular, especially the artwork–detail goes a long way, people. When I first entered the city of Columbia, I was taken aback, and though steam punk is becoming more popular now, they’ve taken it to a whole new level. Bright colors and vibrant details, but with their own personal touch with more “cartoony” or comic-book looking characters. It’s always nice to have something stand out from the rest of the games, even though most people are against the non-realistic style in the people’s facial make-up.

Even more fun, the rails you get to ride on and be able to shoot people from high up, and even leap down and jab them in the neck with the new grappling hook weapon. It was refreshing too, to see that we were no longer in the ocean, but high up in the skies. The setting, with George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and Benjamin Franklin all as major idols for the Columbians, also changed things around for the gameplay. Especially when encountering a Founding Father robot who’s equipped with a machine gun and wears American flags like angel wings in a Christmas pageant. These mini-bosses make it much more interesting when having to go through mysterious buildings in the city.

The only thing I wish was still there–the suspense. In the BioShock and BioShock 2, the most fun part of the game was the fear of running into a crazed maniac with a shotgun, or a bloodied lady muttering madness under her breath, then spotting you in the corner of her eye and coming at you like a rabid dog. Nope, none of that in BioShock Infinite, but what it lacks in suspense, it makes up for in excitement. So far, I’m constantly hiding behind boxes, walls, poles, avoiding being hit with shotgun shells and machine gun pellets.

Whenever I finish the game, we’ll talk about the length, plot and ending (without revealing secrets), and the experience.

This is ncdogg,
“‘Bring us the girl, and wipe away the debt,’ that was the deal. The details elude me now, but the details wouldn’t change a thing.”

