Dear Diary, Pokemon is Getting Intense

Yeah, yeah, I play Pokemon, so sue me. I’m a 90’s kid and I remember very clearly long road trips with my pinkish red Gameboy Color catching Pokemon in the backseat of the car, my first encounter with MewTwo my brother had cheated with the Gameboy cable, and the battles we had with our Pokemon games.

Now, though, it is no longer the 90’s and Pokemon is no longer the same. It’s gone 3D, the Pokemon actually have bodies, more so than they did in Pokemon Black and White. A recent picture Toby had showed me made me laugh because it was talking about walking diagonally in the game, where before, you could only go in four directions: up, down, left, or right.

I am excited for the new Pokemon game because the trailer made the battles look more intense, more animated. However, I’ll never forget the classics, and I’ll never forget my first Pokemon game–Pokemon Silver. Which makes me curious how the originals will look all 3-dimensional and all, like my favorite Pokemon: Eevee. I can only imagine how Flareon, Vaporeon, and her other evolutions will look when they become futuristic.

Besides the new changes, I’m of course curious how it will play on the 3DS in general since Nintendo’s previous 3DS games have yet to be a disappointment. I also hope they make the menus like they did in Black and White, ones that aren’t hard to navigate through and don’t take forever to find what you need and go back to playing. Of course some of the hardcore Pokemon people will again battle it out, yelling pointlessness at each other about which is better: the retro Pokemon or the new Pokemon. My opinion? I don’t care, as long as I get to catch the original Pokemon and add the new ones to my collection, I’m fine. If they ever get rid of the original Pokemon, I will be very sad, BUT I don’t think that will happen.

What are your thoughts on the new Pokemon X and Y game? Post a comment below!

This is ncdogg,
Char, char!

