Dear Diary, ncdogg Origins: Becoming the Gamer I Am Today

I wanted to share a little story for my 55 Followers of how my love for video gaming came to be, because we all know, I didn’t just pick up a controller on  my own, press the ‘on’ button on our SNES and start playing by myself . . .

When I was young, maybe 4 – 6, or maybe 7, years of age, I received Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island for Christmas. We had already owned the SNES, and often played Super Mario Kart as a family. I was ecstatic to receive my first ever video game, and still cherish it to this day. As I got older, my passion for video gaming grew, especially having an older brother there to boss you around and beg you endlessly to play Mario Bro. with him, or James Bond, or my favorite, Super Smash Bro. Melee for the Gamecube, a game that took up a majority of my childhood.

As video gaming evolved, I became more interested in the gaming world, especially now undergone unending pestering of my brother to play video games with him and his friends. I received my first gaming console when I had just turned 9 for Christmas, and with it, a game I never beat, Spongebob Squarepants, and yes, I am ashamed of that being the first game played on the Xbox, though the graphics now that I think about it, were pretty good. Nonetheless, an embarrassing point in my life as an awkward naive child.

My brother and I now had a broader variety of games to choose from with Xbox out and about. We soon found ourselves raving over Star Wars Battlefront and Republic Commando, The Sims, Call of Duty 3, The Lord of the Rings, The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind, Midtown Madness, and Need for Speed. I was hooked, now addicted to games for life.

I asked about any new games to look forward to, not really knowing how to use the internet myself, and teamed up with my brother to get the latest video game for Christmas, among the many toys wanted at a young age.

After the Xbox, we got the Xbox 360 and it was a done deal by that time, being a young teenager. I had learned to use the computer and internet, and soon found myself looking up game reviews from time to time, and asking about games to be released for the 360. My brother and I soon found Call of Duty, Gears of War, Halo, and other various first person shooters to be the past time chosen, along with his friends. Not much longer after that, my brother went away to college and I was on my own with the gaming world and so I became an independent gamer, looking up games for the 360 on my own, games for the Wii which was released a year or so later after the 360.

I even found myself digging up old games technically owned by my brother and doing the single-person campaigns on my own. Addicted to The Elder Scrolls, Gears of War, Bad Company, Zelda, Mario Bro., Donkey Kong, and so, so much more! I couldn’t keep the controller down.

That my friends, is how it started with Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island to ncdogg today.

Now it’s your turn! What’s your story? How did you come to be the gamer you are today, or maybe what led you to this blog post?

Comment below! I love comments and stories about people!

This is ncdogg,
Curse you, Kamek, and your flying broom!

3 thoughts on “Dear Diary, ncdogg Origins: Becoming the Gamer I Am Today

  1. As far as I can remember, I’ve always like games. They seem so much more fun than schoolwork. So I guess becoming a gamer is just a natural progression from the childhood games I’ve played.

    My path to gaming is rather different from yours.

    My first gaming machine is the ColecoVision. I only played two games on it because my parents did not buy any more. I had Donkey Kong (which I sucked at) and Smurf: Rescue in Gargamel’s Castle (I am a big fan of the cartoon). So it’s obvious which one I played more often.

    The Sega Mega Drive is the next console that my parents let into the house and it was frequently used by me and my brother. Sometimes we play together, sometimes we take turns and sometimes onscreen battles would move into real life as we blamed each other for causing our virtual deaths. I still remember many of the games with fondness. This period is when I really start to like gaming.

    Then I moved on to PlayStation and Playstation 2. My brother didn’t become a gamer so I mostly played on my own. I still remember dozing off with the controller in my hands while spending late nights training my FF character. It was during this period that I played a few PC games but mostly because some games like The Sims are not available on consoles. I stopped myself from buying PlayStation 3 because I felt that it was too expensive and now that I have a job, I don’t have a lot of time to play games anymore. Since I no longer have a console, the PC has become my main gaming platform and currently this arrangement suits me.

    • Haha. My brother sometimes got aggravated with me because whenever we played Halo, there was one map, the name escapes me now, but it has a field, there’s a cliff that reaches the middle of the field, separating the two bases partially. It was one of the more popular maps on the first Halo since there were numerous hiding spaces, yet plenty of space to run and drive the vehicles.

      Anyways, my brother would get aggravated at me because in the cliff, there was a path that led from one base to the other, and a secret pathway that led down into the mountain to a power-up. I would always hide in there until he’d come for me and then I’d end up being blamed for screen watching, even though the entire time I’m in there, I’m searching both entryways.

      I really enjoyed your story, too! I do remember many nights of waking up to my tv screen, where ever I had left off the night before on my game.

  2. Game Boy Advance…got it for Christmas when I was like seven. But I never REALLY got into video games ’til we got the XBOX 360. Now I have a Gameboy SP, Nintendo DS, 3DS, hand-me-down Wii, and, probably very soon, an XBOX One, and video games takes up a considerable amount of my life. Funny how such a small little device can completely change your life, huh?

Comments are closed.