Dear Diary, Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

The other day Toby was looking at the games on sale on the Steam store and he found a game called Chivalry. He looked it up, did some reading, and came to me and said it looked interesting. I thought I’d do a sort of overview of the game, since I haven’t played it, however, it looks fun.

Think of Halo, now take Halo and put it in medieval times. That’s sort of the gist I got watching people play on YouTube and reading about the game on other sites. After I actually play it, I’ll do an official review of the game, but for now, we’ll stick with introducing the game for those of you who haven’t heard of it before now, being that it’s almost a year old, I’m sure most of you have heard of this game.

With any medieval warfare game, you pick a class to play, usually being a swordsman, an archer, or spellcaster. However, in Chivalry, there’s no magic, just blood and gore. In the game, you choose from four classes: Vanguard, Knight, Archer, and Man-At-Arms.

Your Vanguard is the Clone Trooper of the Star Wars Battlefront game, your Assault rifle in CoD, your Warrior in Oblivion. Just the generic soldier, but like most games designed with classes, each one has perks and advantages, (as well as disadvantages.) In Chivalry, each class has a special ability, and when playing with other people in multiplayer mode, these abilities surely come in handy. Vanguards can sprint into battle, however, his resistance to . . . well, basically getting killed, is low.

Next is the Knight, which offers better cover from damage in battle and better offense, however, he’s sluggish due to his use of heavier weapons. He can dish out the damage and take a few blows, but he’s slow which makes him a good target for quicker classes . . . and intense players.

The third class is the Archer, which I’ve read is not fun to play as in the game due to its inaccurate long-range shooting. However, me being a far better archer than I am with heavier armor, will have to check this out for myself when I get the game. The Archer is quick, but his defense is pitiful. Of course, with most lighter classes, its best to avoid as much damage as possible, but they do have an advantage against slower classes, such as the knight due to their increased speed.

The fourth and final class is the Man-At-Arms. He’s still an offensive driven class like the Vanguard and Knight, but light like the Archer. This is the class where you think you may have the most advantage, but like all classes, they have disadvantages too. Some may think, he’s melee, good at fighting up front, light, making him quicker, and he still has resistance to damage, but his lightness decreases his defense, making him an Archer basically with a sword and a little more armor.

So we have four classes out on a battlefield . . . doing what you ask? Well, the story in Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is about two factions who have split and are now battling each other to control the region of Agatha. There are two factions, the Mason Order, who are now rebelling against their king to control the land, and the Agatha Knights, who believe its their duty to protect and follow their king, even to the death. You get to choose which faction you want to fight for, be it the Mason Order who believe in strength over weakness and every man for himself, or the Agatha Knights, who protect the weak and die for their country.

The graphics aren’t really anything to brag about, however, they’re definitely not bad. From what I’ve seen in videos, it seems the blood splatters and decapitations are quite fake, but being that Chivalry is more entertainment with its online shooting, the realistic aspect of the game can be overlooked with its fun factor. Chivalry also offers several move types from dodging, to darting, sprinting, and its more realistic killing mechanics. I’ve read elsewhere that the kill feature in the game makes it feel as if you’re really doing damage rather than being dance-like, or some may say “floaty” as in Oblivion. Once again, something I will see for myself when I play the game.

I do look forward to playing Chivalry, being that it isn’t a Nintendo game, and I only say this because a majority of the games I’m planning to play or am playing are Nintendo. Which is a good thing for them because I was beginning to lose all hope. This, once again, was just an overview of the game and when I do play it, I will do an official review.

Chivalry is on Steam, on sale for around $10 and hopefully going back on sale again. Which isn’t a bad price for a year-old PC game.

If you play Chivalry or have played it, comment below and tell me what you think of the game!

This is ncdogg,
“Some roast beef, some chicken, a pizza . . .”

