Dear Diary, I Played Chivalry: Medieval Warfare!

First, before I do my review of the game, I would like to announce the winners of the poll I set up during the week:

In third place with a total of 2/15 votes, we have: Animal Crossing (that’s the original, fellas)

In second place with only one more vote at 3/15, we have: Animal Crossing: Wild World

And, the winner, with a total of 9/15 votes, our winning game is . . . ANIMAL CROSSING: NEW LEAF!

Thanks so much for voting guys, I love putting up polls so I can see what you guys think! Now, this weekend, I got to play Chivalry for about an hour and a half, and I watched Toby play for about 45min. too. So, let’s do the review!

chivalrymedievalwarfare

The game starts off by introducing you to the story line of the game, a brief paragraph saying the armies have split and the new army is becoming known as the Mason Order against the Agatha Knights. If you’re one like me and are sometimes eager to skip the tutorials in games, this one you don’t want to miss out because there’s so much more vital information then just pressing A, S, W, and D to move. You also have to roll the mouse wheel in order to do special thrusts and strikes with your sword.

There are different sections of the tutorial, such as basic training, class training, advanced training, and weaponry training. I would suggest doing them all before going out to battle. Especially class and advanced training which hold a bunch of useful tips, tricks, and information about how to fight and use different moves on your enemies.

The first is basic training where you learn to move, strike, and do power attacks by rolling the mouse wheel. When you finish that tutorial, you’ll meet some Mason Order soldiers who attack you, and based on what you’ve learned in the training, you can now attack people with ease. You’re not finished though, the next easiest tutorial section is weaponry training where you learn to throw torches, push battering rams, and use canons. You’ll again be attacked, but the Mason Order soldiers will be no match for you. Next up, I recommend advanced training where you learn to use tricks such as false striking and combo moves on your opponent. Toby couldn’t quite figure out the tricky Q-button move where you cancel a combo, and it took me about 15 to 20 minutes to figure it out myself, but once I got it down, it was simple, though I’d never use it in battle due to its complicated pattern. Afterwards, class training is the best way to end the tutorial as a whole and head out into battle. In class training, you select different classes who teach you how to use their special moves, their specified weapons, and you learn the pros and cons of each class.

selectingclassbeforebattle
Archer, Man-at-arms, Vanguard, Knight

After you finish the tutorial, you’re free to join servers and fight with other players. There are several maps to the game, such as a village equipped with buildings and rocks to hide in and behind, a field with plenty of space to roam, a throne room providing more obstacles and higher levels, and much more. There are also different match types such as duels, free-for-all, team objective/deathmatch, king of the hill, and the classic capture the flag. I’ve only played free-for-all, team objective, and team deathmatch. However, all three have been full of excitement and mayhem.  If you’re going to play this game, do NOT ragequit. This game’s more intricate input method definitely takes a while to master, having to press W, shift, while tapping space and constantly having to turn around to make sure you’re not being bird dogged by a player behind you, makes this game full of insanity and fun.

killscreenshot
I changed my name after this match, but yep, I just killed whoever that person was.

I’ve had it happen where I’ve struck 10 times with my sword, yet nothing happens to the player I’m attacking and they get one swing on me and I’m dead. If you don’t have any patience and just want to pwn everyone you see, this is not the game for you. With practice though, and if you get some friends to play with you in a server room, you can get a lot better, especially by trying the different classes and trying out different weapons.

219640_screenshots_2013-07-22_00008

Chivalry’s graphics are nothing to brag about, though they’re not terrible, they’re not insanely amazing either. My screenshots, however, do no justice to this statement since I’ve been playing on my laptop instead of my desktop. However, the fighting aspect of the game feels more life-like, just as other people and reviewers have stated, since it takes longer to thrust and regroup before you can strike again, besides the fact that you’re player is panting and wheezing and people are shouting and jumping everywhere, makes it hard to focus on one target. Sometimes, the more realistic attacking feature doesn’t really help when you have so many other distractions in the game.

chaos
Chaos oneth the horizon, milord!

Unfortunately, there isn’t any real story behind Chivalry, except that the king’s army is splitting into two and you have to choose sides. The only time the two sides really come into play is when playing Team Objective, and even so, its really just the players going crazy while trying to complete goals.

I’d like to think of this game more as Super Smash Bros. and multiplayer Halo combined with a medieval theme. Buttons will be smashed and jammed and names will be called, but if you’re looking for anything more than that, Chivalry isn’t for you. If you’re looking for a challenge though, and maybe to hone your computer-gaming skills, I’d recommend this game for you. Chivalry is a sporadic, fun, and challenging RPG to play.

My Rating:

8.8 / 10.0

 

This is ncdogg,
Chargeth forwardeth and leaveth noneth aliveth!

