Dear Diary, New Look!

I finally updated the look for my blog. Everything is still where it could be found before, but now it looks nicer.

So, I wanted to take some time to talk about something.

First. I wanted to talk to you guys about the gay marriage right, and why, as a Christian, it’s slowly starting to not bother me as much as it did when it first started circulating, but instead, has shown me a lot of things about the world we’re living in today.

Yes. I believe homosexuality is a sin. No, I don’t hate gay people, or any people for that matter. I don’t hate you, I hate what you do.

When the gay marriage decision started circulating, I was fearful. It reminded me of the story of Sodom and Gamorrah, where God destroyed the city because of homosexual behavior, among other things. After a few days, I was no longer fearful, but angry. I was angry because a few days later, we hear of the ban of the Confederate flag. After that, I was confused. I was confused by the media, confused by our government, confused by everyone in this country. After gay marriage was legalized, I was disappointed. Disappointed not in the decision, but just how lost this country is becoming.

Friends are at each other’s throats. Families are being torn apart. People (believers and non-believers) are running in circles, unsure of what to do next. This act is clearly not of God. This kind of hateful, resentful, malice reaction from both the church and people who agree with homosexuality, is not something God wants. I know what some of you are thinking, “Typical response from a self-proclaimed ‘Christian.'”

It’s so easy to categorize people, which is exactly what most (not all, but most) of the equality people say they’re fighting against . . . yet, they like to categorize Christians as judgmental and close-minded. Me, myself, as an artist, like to think that I’m fairly open-minded. I have to be, in order to improve as an artist . . . and still, I’m a Christian.

Instead of teaching love and forgiveness, the “feminist” or equalist, or whatever they’re calling themselves, group is teaching tolerance. You know what tolerance is? It’s letting people do whatever they want, with no consequences for their actions, and basically, no one looking out for anybody’s well-being. You know what tolerance sounds a lot like?

Selfishness

That’s right. You heard it here. Feminist/Equality = Selfish. In case you didn’t read the big letters up top, I’m not a man, so don’t try that attack.

So, how did it I get to this conclusion? It’s simple. People who tolerate people are not doing the world any favors. How is anyone going to improve themselves if no one is held to any kind of standard? You don’t just automatically know what you need to improve on with your life. People get offended so easily nowadays and quite frankly, that’s the thing that’s upsetting me more than the gay marriage, the banning of the Confederate flag, and the ISIS thing all put together.

Let’s set up some scenarios. The bold is what a person says to you and the bulleted points are your options for a response. Which option would you choose?

Your art is crappy.

  • That’s okay! I’ll just try harder next time. Let me look up some really amazing artists and try to mimic their style!
  • Wow! I spent 50 hours on that painting and everyone said it looks great. So, your personality is crappy.

I don’t agree with homosexuality.

  • That’s okay! We have different opinions! Why don’t you agree with homosexuality, if you don’t mind me asking?
  • Wow. You’re a really closed-minded individual who wants to force their beliefs on me.

I don’t agree with Christianity.

  • That’s okay! Let me show you why I do!
  • You’re going to hell.

You’ve gained some weight.

  • I know! I’m going to exercise soon! Would you care to join me?
  • Wow. That’s really rude and discriminatory, and you’re just a s****y human being for saying that.

Now, which of those responses would you give to a person?

If you said the second response for most of the scenarios, you’re more than likely harboring hate in your heart. Why? I’m not really sure. I know that life can get stressful, and some days just don’t go your way, but tomorrow is a new day! A day to start all over. Maybe instead of tolerating people, you should learn to love people. Now, I’m not saying you shouldn’t be offended at all, ever, but I don’t think you should respond in a defensive manner. Maybe that’s your chance to show love and choose option one! This isn’t a one time thing either; that means, tomorrow, when you see that same person again, stir up a conversation with them. Don’t avoid them just because they said something you didn’t like, or give them nasty looks because they don’t agree with the same thing you do, or indirectly bash them on Facebook. Go up to them. Ask them how their day is going. Ask what they’re planning to do later that day, or later that week. Maybe even invite them to a movie with your friends.

We think differently and have different opinions. We treat each other differently. That’s just how it goes. The only way to not treat people differently is with love, not tolerance.

Except, I’m pretty sure that most people like pizza, whether they believe in God or not. Hint hint.

That’s the end of my rant. I feel much better now.

This is ncdogg,
I hope I did offend you. You probably needed it. (Hint: This is your chance to respond with Option 1.)

4 thoughts on “Dear Diary, New Look!

  1. I don’t agree with you. At all. But I respect you for putting your opinions out there, whether I believe they are good or “so bad they’re horrible” to borrow a trope term. I’m not going to argue with you, as you seem pretty firm in your beliefs and I know I can’t change anything.

    I do have to point out that no one is banning the Confederate flag. You can still wave it to your heart’s content on your lawn, in a tattoo, as a 15-foot statement off the back of your truck (when you live in Alaska, nowhere near the South, no less), or wherever else as a private citizen. The government is not preventing you from having or displaying the flag. The fight is to keep the government itself from displaying the flag, because to display the flag means the government endorses and sponsors the Confederacy, or at least its ideals that the flag represents.

    I personally don’t want the flag to come down, if only because it will lull us into thinking we’ve won something. Let the flag stay up, as a reminder. I might make a post about this.

    And for what it’s worth, the correct response to “your art is crappy” is NOT option one. In this scenario, the person’s personality IS crappy, and mimicking amazing artists shouldn’t be your aim. If you lie down and let people walk all over you (as is done in Situation One, Option One), that’s all you’ll ever be able to do for the rest of your life. Some people are just trolls. It’s about distinguishing between people whose opinions should matter to you and those who you shouldn’t give a lick about. (Like me, I suppose.)

    • The point of the post wasn’t about the flag. I couldn’t care less about it, I just know people are upset about it.
      They can’t ban things like that, I know. The point was about to treating people with love instead of hatred/violence.

      I’m in the art department at my university. I’ve heard worse things said with lesser insults. Trying to recreate someone’s art is a good way to practice different styles and help develop one’s own style.

      The scenarios aren’t about giving in, they’re about taking what people say and trying to improve instead of immediately going on the defensive, which seems to be the more popular route nowadays.

      I really appreciate your comment though, Lulzy! :) I hope you had a great 4th! (I’m assuming you live in the US)

  2. Loved this. Because I believe a lot and in the same way. I am not for Gay marriage, but I do not hate Gay people. I still love them just like I do everyone else. I just don’t agree with what they do. Just like friend. Because you are my friend, I will love you, it does not mean I will agree with everything you believe nor do I approve of all you do. But regardless, I will love you.
    Example: People who still for the thrill. I do not agree with stealing, but I will still love the person. I just disagree and believe it is wrong.

Comments are closed.